National Council

What is the National Council?

The National Council is the supreme policy-making representative body of National and Regional UN Youth office holders that meets 3-4 times a year around the country to discuss how the organisation is running and to give policy direction to those who are administering UN Youth nationally (the National Executive), regionally (Regional Councils) and those running events or facilitating delegations.

Who is National Council?

There are currently seven votes in National Council: National Executive, National Events, International Events, and the four regions Auckland, Wellington, Canterbury, and Otago. Anyone is allowed to attend National Council and speak. One representative from each voting group is responsible for consulting on motions and discussion points with their relevant volunteers and members, and to take those views and votes to National Council. For the NX and each region, this representative is usually the President. For National and International Events, this is usually the most senior event co-ordinator/tour director.

Current National Council Representatives

  • National Executive: Sally Wu
  • Auckland: Charlie Lin
  • Wellington: Jonathan Gee
  • Canterbury: Margot Shanahan
  • Otago: Mike Peebles
  • National Events: Andrew Chen
  • International Events: Phillip Greatrex

For contact details, please refer to our Contact page.

User login

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.

Latest on Twitter